ACSA Awards Program

Program Overview

ACSA Awards Program

One of ACSA's priorities is to ensure that school leaders are recognized for their excellence. Through our annual awards program, we honor students, administrators and community organizations for their achievements and their dedication to public education at both the regional and state levels.

Program Overview:

  • State Special Awards: (state level only)
    – Ferd Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award
    – Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence
  • Special Awards: (region and state levels)
    – Valuing Diversity Award
    – Partners in Educational Excellence Award
    – Robert E. Kelly Award
  • Administrators of the Year (region and state levels)
  • Every Student Succeeding Program (region and state levels)

Contact Us

ACSA Awards Program
Emily Agpoon, Program Coordinator
eagpoon(at) | (916) 329-3833 (call or text)

Every Student Succeeding Program

Each year, ACSA recognizes 19 pre-K-adult students, one from each geographic region, as well as two California adult education students, for overcoming the odds and achieving success. Find out more.

Other ACSA Awards

Program Calendar

  • March 27: State recipients for 2023 announced in EdCal
  • Aug. 1: Nomination window opens for 2024 awards
  • Nov. 3: Awards Ceremony in Sacramento for 2023 awards
  • Jan. 18: Nomination submission deadline for 2024 awards (nominations due for all awards in all regions)
  • Feb. 8: State finalist submissions due (ACSA region leaders submit their finalists to the state Awards Committee)

Help & Resources

General program info:

  • Awards Program Overview
    See a snapshot program overview, with information on each of the award categories.
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    Read the most commonly asked questions about the program and nomination process, including questions about eligibility and supporting documents.
  • Program Timeline
    View a detailed timeline of the annual awards program from start to finish.

Starting your nomination:

Region manager resources:

For additional help, please contact the awards coordinator.

Nomination Forms

2023 Awards Program

  • Award Nomination Portal

    The nomination window for 2023 awards closed on Jan. 19.

    You can view and access copies of your submitted nominations via the online nomination portal at any time. Just log in and look under My entries on the home screen, using the "Active season" dropdown to search past seasons.

2023 Every Student Succeeding

Statewide Award Recipients

2022 Statewide Award Recipients

ACSA is proud to recognize the 2022 state award honorees. We offer our sincerest congratulation to all of this year's nominees, who without exception
represent the excellence and commitment of California's educators.
Winners will be honored at the Leadership Summit in San Diego the evening of Nov. 4.

2022 Special Awards

Ferd Kiesel Memorial
Distinguished Service Award

The Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award is ACSA's highest honor. Each year, we honor one individual who has made a significant contribution to education. The award is named after Ferd. Kiesel, ACSA founding president, a man whose personal commitment to schools and students—and to this association—was exemplary.

Scott Schmerelson
LAUSD School Board Representative,
Los Angeles USD
Region 16

Marcus Foster Memorial Award for
Administrator Excellence

ACSA established the Marcus Foster Memorial Award to honor educators who model the vision of Marcus Foster. Foster took risks to improve educational opportunities. His inclusive management style gave community and staff comfort and confidence. He was creative, and willing to try new ideas to reach out to students. Foster was a skilled manager of change.

Recipients of this award receive a $5,000 grant for a high school senior or seniors, sponsored by

Regina Rossall
Superintendent, Westside Union SD
Region 15

Robert E. Kelly Award

ACSA's Robert E. Kelly Award honors individuals who help advance the high quality of public education and who have made significant contributions on a volunteer basis over the years.

Dr. Stacy Love Bryant
Region 15

Partners in Educational Excellence

ACSA's Partners in Educational Excellence Award recognizes exemplary school-community partnership programs.

Shop with a Cop: Back to School Teachers’ Edition Program
Region 12

Valuing Diversity Award

ACSA's Valuing Diversity Award recognizes those who further ACSA's mission by promoting diversity and support for all children, parents and staff.

Soledad Molinar
Director of Multilingual & Multicultural Education, Ventura USD
Region 13

2022 Administrators of the Year

Superintendent of the Year

Ted Alejandre
Superintendent, San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, Region 12

Secondary Principal of the Year

Morgan Smith
Principal, Marina High School, Huntington Beach Union HSD, Region 17

Middle Grades Principal of the Year

Lorelle Dawes
Principal, Cabrillo Middle School, Ventura USD, Region 13

Elementary Principal of the Year

Katherine Castleberry
Principal, Lincoln Elementary School, Torrance USD, Region 14

Central Office Administrator of the Year

Roger Brossmer
Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services-Secondary Education, Downey USD, Region 14

Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year

Marci Chavez
Acting Principal, Nelson Elementary, Hacienda La Puente USD, Region 15

Elementary Co-Administrator of the Year

Denise Fenton
Assistant Principal, Two Bunch Palms Elementary School, Palm Springs USD, Region 19

Classified Leader of the Year

Angela Zeoli
Director I, Purchasing, Modesto City Schools, Region 7

Confidential Employee of the Year

Coral Godlis
Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Cold Spring School, Cold Spring SD, Region 13

Personnel/Human Resources Administrator
of the Year

Lena Bundtzen
Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources, Campbell Union SD, Region 8

Adult Education Administrator of the Year

Saida Valdez
Assistant Director of Adult & Continuing Education, Azusa Adult Education Center, Azusa USD, Region 15

Career Technical Education Administrator
of the Year

Amy Robbins
Director of College and Career Readiness, Tri-Valley ROP, Region 6

Special Education Administrator of the Year

Terri Lynne Ricetti
Executive Director of Special Education, Napa Valley USD, Region 4

Superintendent/Principal of the Year

Wynette Hilton
Superintendent/Principal, Tenaya Elementary, Big Oak Flat Groveland USD, Region 7

Business Services Administrator of the Year

Lisa Gonzales
Chief Business Officer, Mt. Diablo USD, Region 6

Student Services Administrator of the Year

Trudy Gross
Associate Superintendent of Teaching and Learning, Fremont Union HSD, Region 8

Curriculum & Instruction Administrator
of the Year

Dianna Marsh
Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Madera County Superintendent of Schools,
Region 9

Continuation/Educational Options Administrator of the Year

Roberto Carrillo
Principal, JCCS South/East Region, San Diego COE, Region 18

Professor of Education of the Year

Jennifer Goldstein
Professor, Educational Leadership, College of Education, Cal State University Fullerton, Region 17

Retired Administrator of the Year

Don Remley
Region 2

Technology Administrator of the Year

Rebecca Cooksey
Assistant Superintendent of Innovation and Technology Services, Lancaster SD, Region 15

For information on regional award recipients, please find your Region in the dropdown menu or the map on our Regions page.

Download an archive of all past state ACSA Awards recipients.

Awards Program